Some people think there are not many things individuals can do to resolve environmental problems, while others believe that to tackle environmental problems individuals also need to take action. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

Nowadays humanity is facing many unprecedented environmental issues, that, according to some folks, cannot be solved by the public, and only those who have a certain power can solve them. However, I firmly believe that taking into account the severity of these problems, collective efforts are needed. The government, given the tremendous power and financial resources it has, can contribute to tackling environmental problems. For instance, the authorities are capable of implementing more severe laws in factories, that release emissions and vehicles, that produce exhaust fumes. Additional measure which can be taken by public authorities is that they can invest in the introduction of public awareness campaigns and the development of environmentally-friendly transportation means. These measures, obviously, are impossible to be taken by individuals. Nevertheless, all the attempts of the government will go in vain if people do not change their daily routine. In other words, the harm that is brought by small things, such as overuse of undisposable goods, travelling by private cars, and careless attitude to the garbage in the streets, that at first sight do not worth any attention, is indeed negative. Hence, each individual has to thoroughly understand the impact they have and, providing that it is detrimental, take some actions. To exemplify, by using disposable goods instead of plastic ones, commuting by bicycle or at least by bus, instead of private vehicles, people can considerably diminish the negative influence they are having on the planet. In conclusion, I suppose that the Earth is suffering from the influence of human beings and in order to reduce the sufferings both authorities and individuals need to take action.