Some people are of the opinion that there should be a car-free day once every month, on which no private vehicles are allowed on the road. Discuss the advantages and possible disadvantages.

A few people are of the view that once in a month, the car-plying should be banned on the roads and owners should give rest to their private carriers. Undoubtedly, the public transport eases the congestion on the roads but cannot provide the comforts of individual conveyance. To begin with, nobody can deny this fact that more the cars on the road, the more intense is the pollution. Each individual sitting behind the wheel may take pride in his possession but is not contributing positively in combating the problem of traffic congestion. For example, if all private automobiles are away from the roads, though, for a day only in a month, the pollution level will certainly come down. Moreover, the absence of banging, buzzing and roadway clamour, sound of the cars will lessen the noise pollution. Consequently, we can prevent exposure to health hazards. On the contrary, this arrangement will pose a number of problems to the people. They will have to compromise their convenience and comfort. For example, public transport will not be able to cater to the needs of a patient who has to reach the hospital in an emergency. In addition to this, the erratic schedule of the government buses cannot meet the growing demand of the common people. For example, Odd and Even was introduced twice in Delhi but the hue and cry of the masses forced them to withdraw. Car free day difficult to impose and uncomfortable to accept, is a practical solution to environment problem. Plethora of benefits associated with this day will certainly inspire people to adopt it as a habit and breathe the fresh and fumeless air.