Some people claim that not enough of the waste from home is recycled. They say that the only way to increase recycling if for government to make it a legal requirement. To what extent do you think laws are needed to make people recycle more of their waste?

A large proportion of waste from households is not recycled, and some people suggest that it is necessary to enforce laws to deal with this problem. This is a viable solution, but I do not think it is a good option. If recycling litterß is legally required, people will possibly do it; otherwise, they can be punished. With the force of the laws, those who do not sort the misuse may be asked to do some community work or even pay the fine for their illegal activities. For example, people may make a reduction of their life quality as a consequence of paying a legal fine. Therefore, in order to maintain their common life, they may pay more attention to sorting waste in their daily life, and it can be seen as a good result of the legal requirement. Nevertheless, the government may play an even more important role in educating to increase the proportion of recycling waste. Despite the legal power that would enforce people to obey the instructions, it may affect the regular lifestyle of citizens. However, with the increased investment in education and advertising, the population may realise that unsorted unused materials may make a big impact on the environment. As an example, children would realise the importance of recycling rubbish in their future life. Furthermore, environmental issues may affect their life in the unknown future. As a result, citizens will discover that it is necessary to recycle the rubbish to protect themselves and the next generation. In conclusion, it is obvious that legal requirements may have related effort in recycling waste from home, but the effort of government, such as educating and promoting, is considered important to deal with this issue.