Some organizations believe that their employees should dress smartly. Others value quality of work above appearance. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

Some of the big companies around the world stress on their employees to wear smarty,while another group challenge this opine by questioning the importance of uniform over their work. Although smartly dressed servants can uplift the public appearance of the association,I believe that stressing employees to wear smartly may reduce their efficacy of job as well as their job satisfaction. Hence, this writer opines that we should emphasise performance rather than appearance. To begin with, with the development of the social status of the team and their kind of work, a different person can dress differently. However, most employers try to stress their team to dress smartly since the company well capitalise from other contesting companies and that may improve their marketing value. For example, according to a survey conducted by the University of Colombo, most customers like to do business with a smartly dressed person rather than a normally dressed person. Hence, most companies implement new rules regarding the dress of their workers. On the other hand, when people try to wear smartly as their company suggested, it may negatively affect their work. Furthermore, this may affect the efficacy of their work as well as the quality of work. For example, the cost of these smart clothes may be very high compared to normal clothes and they may not get any allowance for clothes. Unfortunately, this may lead to negative outcomes for them as workers and they may develop dissatisfaction with their job. In summary, even though there are some positive facts like rising publicity about the company,organizations who try to stress their workers to wear smart clothes may get negative outcomes in the long run due to factors like low job satisfaction. Hence, this writer opines that companies should focus more on the work of their workers than their dress.