In many countries, children are engaged in some kind of paid work. Some people regard this as completely wrong, while others consider it as valuable work experience, important for learning and taking responsibility. What are your opinions on this issue?

The idea of businesses having children as employees has been highly contentious across various nations. While I accept that such an early involvement in working activities can be harmful to children’s development in certain ways, I believe that it could benefit them as long as the work is adequate. On the one hand, using child labour obviously imposes an imminent threat to some extent. In particular, some children need to carry some hazardous activities at work such as working under harsh conditions, carrying overly heavy items or being exposed to dangerous chemical materials. Undoubtedly, this puts them at risk for some serious diseases and injuries. For example, it was a common scene at tile factories that a number of boys were being forced to work under extreme heat, as well as come in contact with poisonous substances, which can damage their respiratory systems. On the other hand, I personally support those businesses, which offer them with valuable experiences to stimulate their personal development. In fact, it enables them to practice a wide range of necessary skills in their transition into adulthood. For instance, a child who works as a waiter or waitress in Mc Donald’s is likely to learn to bear greater responsibility, which contributes enormously to his future employment. Moreover, working to earn their own money encourages them to be more economical. In other words, their skill of financial management can be enhanced. In conclusion, while in some cases, children’s engagement in work may hinder their personal development, I would argue that some businesses are offering them a valuable chance to gain essential skills and earn pocket money simultaneously.