Some people say that advertising is extremely successful at persuading us to buy things. Other people think advertising is so common that we no longer pay attention to it. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

The effects of commercials have remained a highly contentious subject among citizens in recent years. While some believe advertising does a great job at influencing people to purchase their products, others claim that it is too repetitive and has become a nuisance for everyone. In my opinion, both views have a valid point and I will discuss them in this essay. On the one hand, it is true that a large number of people have been influenced by advertisements in several ways. First of all, some companies often hire celebrities to promote their products on social media. In a way, it helps the product to become more widespread as well as makes it more legit and trustworthy. Moreover, using new and refreshing concepts to advertise is also a good idea to convince people to buy. For instance, some commercials have catchy songs or stunning visuals to impress viewers and make them remember the products more vividly. On the other hand, we have been bombarded by advertisements for too long that we started to have a negative attitude toward them. They appear everywhere, from street billboards to social media websites and as a result, people do not pay attention to them anymore. Thus, more and more promotion videos use too much exaggeration that citizens no longer have faith in it. Take mobile games as a typical example, its advertisements show the gameplay that does not reflect the truth, therefore ended up becoming hated by everyone. To conclude, there is no doubt that commercials can be successful in some ways, although it has become too common that people started to feel annoyed by them. Personally, due to the prior explanation, I believe both views are acceptable.