Some people say that advertising is extremely successful at persuading us to buy things. Other people think that advertising is so common that we no longer pay attention to it. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

In the modern world, marketing is becoming very popular. Therefore, opinions are divided on whether advertising persuades people for purchasing goods or it has no influence on them. In my opinion, although some are unaffected by adverts due to their humble and modest nature, others are highly affected by tempting sale offers. Hence, both of these arguments are true depending on the type of customers. On the one hand, it argued that a group of buyers is down to the earth and they do not bother ads. For instance, some of the elderly have strong control over their feelings due to their life-long experiences. Consequently, they save their money for tough times instead of wasting it on buying unnecessary products, just by watching adverts. They know how to manage their finances wisely. Thus, advertising is extremely unsuccessful in convincing them of purchases. On the other hand, the marketing strategies by retailers assist them in making hefty profits by tricking shopaholics. For example, a big pool of customers consists of children and obsessed shoppers. Whenever they see some advertisements of their interests they become impressed by the offers and merits of advertised products, so they buy these items quickly. Children pester their parents to allow them to purchase fast food items and toys, which are marketed on television. Hence, advertising is very influential in encouraging people for buying who are addicted to shopping. In conclusion, while some people cannot be persuaded for purchases by advertisement as their humble behaviour and modesty do not allow them to do so, others often fall for these sale tricks of businesses. Thus, after analyzing both sides of the argument, I believe that both views are correct because there are two types of buyers.