Nowadays, television is an essential part of our lives, as a medium to spread news and awareness, and, for some, it even acts as a companion. What is your opinion about this?

There is no denying the fact that watching television is a vital part of one's daily routine. Timing and purpose of viewing migh differ but people spend a reasonable portion of their time watching it. In the past, other than radio, it was the only source of entertainment and news for people across the world and even today, its significance has not reduced drastically. National governments across the world use television to dis-seminate information among masses regarding various programmes like healthcare, income taxes etc. Political parties use it for their election campaigns as well. In addition to this, Televesion is still the best and easily accessible source of news. Availabilty of the news content in regional languages has increased its utility even more. Furthermore, many companies use television to market their products and services via television. In fact, advertising is the major source of revenue for TV channels. Some people uses television quite extensively and spend a significant time watching movies, news etc on it. Specially, those who live alone or are retired. It is like having a constant companion around them or something to look forward to. However, pro-longed televison viewing might have negative effects on one's mental well-being and should be moderated. Overall, Television is and probably will remain popular source of entertainment and news in future too, but people should learn to control the amount of time they spend on TV for a better balance in life.