Some people think that hosting an international sports event is good for the country, while some people think it is bad. Discuss both views and state your opinion. Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience. You should write at least 250 words.

Some individuals believe that sponsoring a world athletic event is beneficial for a nation, while others have argued that it offers no value. This essay agrees with the latter proponents that taking such responsibility is disadvantageous to the host nation. This essay will argue that although sponsoring such a global sports contest can project a country's image internationally, it can be a serious strain on the economy of the sponsoring state with an adverse consequence on the lives of the populace. On the one hand, anchoring the responsibility of sponsoring a world sports competition can help to project the image of a country in a positive limelight. This is because the country will not only be popular but the larger world can now better appreciate such country, particularly its culture, traditions, and tourist strength. For example, the Atlanta 1999 Olympic competition affords a lot of foreigners the opportunity of exploring the state. On the other hand, the huge cost involved in hosting this competition is colossal and can be a major strain on the economy of the sponsoring nation. Consequently, other aspects of the economy that have a direct impact on the populace will suffer due to the humungous capital diverted toward making these sports events a success. For instance, in developing nations where basic amenities are still a major challenge, hosting such competition will put a lot of strain on the limited available housing facilities and roads, for the indigenous dwellers. In conclusion, while being the host of an international sports event can help a state to boost its image, in my opinion, the enormous cost required for such a project can affect other aspects of the economy adversely.