In some countries, more and more people are becoming interested in finding out about the history of the house or building they live in What are the resons for this? How can people research this?

More than any time in our society, people are seeking to know about the history behind the place where they are living. The purpose of this essay is to discuss the possible reasons why I believe such an event is occurring and inform possible sources where people can find such a information. The main reason why I think this tendency is happening these days is because people are buying old houses rather than new ones. Due to this fact they are interested in finding the history of the places before purchasing it. In addition, when people are renewing their house, they are learning about its history in order to keep the main elements based on the original intentions when the place was built. To illustrate this, many architects are creating designs that integrate old elements of construction, such as portals and rustic stairs, with modern tendencies, as it has been a crescent request among clients. One of the major sources to find out about the history of a particular building or house is online. This might require specific information about previous owners or even when the place was constructed. Alternatively, there may also be a file with information about the place on the city council. However, historical facts might have not been attached to the file, only geographical information. For example, the city must keep the dimensions and other information of houses and buildings in the city to calculate taxes paid by the citizens. In conclusion, the majority of people searching information about their buildings and houses is with the aim of knowing any important historical fact before acquiring it, as well as, with the objective of maintaining the main elements of the place in case they decide to change it. People are mostly likely to obtain such pieces of information from the internet or on their own city council.