Increasing the price of petrol is the best way to solve traffic and pollution problem. To what extent do you agree or disagree? What other measures do you think might be effective.

These days, the trend in using private vehicles is dramatically increasing worldwide. Consequently, this leads to various pollution and traffic issues. Some people said that there are many benefits of increasing the fuel price in order to solve these problems. However, there are also some significant drawbacks. This essay will discuss the weakness of increasing fuel prices and provide other ways to fix these issues effectively. It can be clearly seen that the number of people who still need to use their personal cars is still high. Therefore, increasing the price of petrol might not be effective enough. In addition, this policy could also lead to some negative consequences. For example, some people would suffer from the increased price of petrol, and it could lead to protests and objections. Furthermore, some cars use electricity instead of petrol. Hence, the issue of traffic congestion would still not be solved. Considering effective measures on this matter facilities such as public transportation should be improved to be more accessible in all areas, both in the city centre and suburbs, in order to reduce the number of cars on the road. Furthermore, bicycle paths and footpaths should also be improved to motivate people to use bicycles and walk more frequently. The high number of private cars contributes to a large amount of pollution, particularly air pollution. In addition, the policy to limit cars owned per family could decrease both the amount number of cars on the road and pollution. To conclude, the policy to raise the price of fuel might not effective to solve the problems of increasing traffic and pollution. However, these problems could be solved by improving public facilities to be more accessible for people in all areas. The policy of limitation of cars owned per family could also alleviate the high number of cars on the road.