A lot of people spend a major part of their adult life at work, so job satisfaction is very important for individual happiness. What are the main factors that contribute to job satisfaction? What are the possible solutions for people who are unsatisfied with their jobs?

In the current world, the professional lives of individuals occupy a major part and therefore being happy with one's job is highly imperative. For the same purpose, addressing factors like job environment, passion for task etc is extremely important for satisfaction at the workplace. Also, in my opinion, failing to adhere to the above points leads to disappointment in employment. In this essay, I will be discussing both viewpoints and providing my perception of them. To begin with, there are an array of contributing elements, such as ambience, interest and pay of an employee to decide their contentment in occupation. Firstly, the work environment and salary is highly conducive to mental health and productivity. To give a clear example, in the sales department, there is a lot of pressure on a salesperson to pitch at their best or else their income gets reduced.On top of that, the majority of managers are ill-behaved. Secondly, one's interest in the subject at hand plays a key role. For instance, a graduate with more enthusiasm can perform better than a post-graduate who lacks the same at doing the task at hand. On the other hand, to lessen the discontentment at work, the area of expertise should be known without considering the salary. For example, many engineers who have graduated in the stream of Mechanical enter into information technology with minimal knowledge, in hopes of being paid better but end up underperforming with lesser salaries. Rather than doing this, mechanical engineers can try to look into automation engineering instead of switching their work profile to another line. Therefore, leading to better results. In addition, the companies can give more importance to mental health rather than pressurising their staff to deliver results. For example, arranging a body of therapists, giving recuperation holidays etc To sum up, it is crucial to find one's level of commitment and interest in a job before starting it to ensure happiness and peace of mind. Moreover, companies can improve their policies and ethics for staff to improve their quality of life which will, in turn, generate lump some revenues, hence benefitting both parties.