Write about the following topic: Some people prefer to spend their lives doing the same things and avoiding change. Others, however, think that change is always a good thing. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

It is often assumed that people prefer to have a routine life than an adventurous one. On the other hand, some believe that change is a positive thing. This essay will discuss both sides of the issue. To begin, changes might be perceived as a scary thing. Hence, it is difficult to accept them and people prefer to live avoiding them. For instance, after graduation, the majority of young kids have to move to other cities to be able to attend a good university. Nevertheless, many decide to stay in their hometown because they are afraid to leave their comfort zone. In addition to that, many employers decide to avoid making adjustments to jobs due to the fact that leaving their positions could lead them to worse working conditions. On the other hand, making changes in life may be a good thing for peoples' mental health. For instance, recent research showed that women, after a break-up, are keen to innovate their haircuts to move on. As well as this, small variations of the routine can make a person happier by giving him or her the chance to experiment with something new and to find a new purpose in life. Therefore it would appear that innovation is fundamental to help people to get better after a traumatic event. In conclusion, I opine that change is not always a bad thing because it may help people to process a negative situation. However, making changes is a very important and scary thing and it has to be planned very carefully.