Average standard of people's health is likely to be lower in the future than it is now. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

There is an ongoing debate on whether our standards of health are improving or deteriorating as we are moving into the future. While some say the average level of people ’s health is likely to be poor in the forthcoming years, others believe that with constant advances in health and medicine, future generations are likely to enjoy a better quality of life. It is very difficult to take a side because standards of health are dynamic and depend on a lot of factors, some of which may be unprecedented. For instance, none of us had ever expected a long-lasting and worldwide pandemic like COVID-19. Research has shown that in recent years, most jobs have become sedentary and the need to move has been minimized. After the beginning of the Work-From-Home era, lives have become even more sedentary. People have restricted movement and social interaction because of the fear of the virus too. In a completely digitized modern world, even the most basic needs can be ordered to our doorstep and this has completely eliminated the need to step out of the house. This lack of physical movement and exercise is making people lethargic. Indulging in unhealthy eating habits has also become a very common problem among the youth and is leading to a rise in obesity. If the work environment continues to be desk-oriented, then there is a high possibility that a large proportion of the future population will become susceptible to a number of health conditions triggered by obesity and poor fitness levels. On the other hand, it may be argued that the youth today are becoming increasingly conscious about their body image and are resorting to healthier alternatives. While the pandemic has confined everyone to the four walls, it has also made a lot of people prioritize their health. While previously only a few people hit the gym regularly, now many of us follow our fitness regimes at home with more enthusiasm. It is also a proven fact that people are living longer. This would not be possible without advancements in medical science. Of course, more people suffer from health problems now, but there are cures too. Even though there are valid arguments on both sides, the factors that could adversely affect people ’s health in the future far outweigh any of those which show positive outcomes. Therefore, I agree with the statement that the youth is going to be less fit and healthy tomorrow than they are today.