Many people find it difficult to speak in front of and to present to anaudience. It is believed that this skill should be taught in school. Why is this important? To what extent do you agree or disagree with it?

It is believed that public speaking should be taught in school because a lot of people find it difficult to speak in front of a crowd. They usually feel that they are being criticized and shunned thus, they shy away from the podium. This essay believes that it's important to have formal training in public speaking due to a number of reasons. When public speaking is being taught in school, it helps the students conquer their doubts and anxieties, and develop self-confidence and critical thinking. Formal training will expose the student to more public speaking activities like debate competitions, impromptu speaking, or storytelling. Studies show that students who are engaged in these kinds of activities soon realize how irrelevant their fears are and will, later on, enjoy the activity. Public speaking being taught in school greatly helps in the students ' self-development. Students who are taught public speaking can soon become better communicators in the workplace thus leading to better relationships with those whom they deal with. They are able to develop interpersonal and intrapersonal skills because they can now articulate their thoughts and feelings properly. For one, they can say the right words to express themselves whenever they are confronted with extreme emotions or situations. When students are formally trained in public speaking, they will be able to conduct their personal and professional lives better in the future. In summary, it is important for public speaking to be taught in school because public speaking is an art and it entails a lot of understanding and training to be able to be efficient. When formally included as a course, students will pay more attention to it and will have more opportunities to engage in discourse to hone their abilities. It helps them conquer their shyness and they will soon grow to become better communicators.