The government is responsible for protecting a nation’s cultural identity. Some people think it is the government’s duty to ensure that new buildings are built in a traditional style. To what extent do you agree?

Culture and traditions are an integral part of any human civilization. Therefore, some are of the argument that it is the government's responsibility to protect national cultural identity. In this, essay I will be discussing why I believe that both governments and individuals should be held accountable in regard to protecting national culture. To begin with, It is undeniable that governments play a major role in preserving national culture and heritage through taking several measurements such as doing awareness campaigns that focus on the importance of preserving culture and traditions. For instance, there was an awareness programme that was launched back in 2015 by UNESCO in partnership with multiple world governments the main objective of this programme was to protect and safeguard culture and traditions in areas where is war and conflict. Moreover, introducing subjects that in schools curriculum that teach youngsters about their own culture and heritage. Also allocating funds to protect the old buildings and historical sites. However, we can not ignore the role that we play as individuals in preserving our own culture and tradition. culture heritages includes many elements such as language, clothes, music, food, beliefs and many more. Parents and grandparents are the ones responsible to pass tradition and culture to the younger generation. For example, when immigrant families speak their original country language with their offspring this will instil a sense of belongings with them. Also wearing traditional clothing, celebrating cultural events, all of these things help the younger generation to understand their culture and protect and therefore pass it down to future generation. In conclusion, culture and traditions are what makes us unique and different, Therefore, preserving them is the responsibility of both governments and individuals.