Many manufactured food and drink products contain high levels of sugar, which causes many health problems. Sugary products should be made more expensive to encourage people to consume less sugar. Do you agree or disagree ?

Numerous physical problems might occur due to the consumption of packaged food and drink as they contain a significant proportion of sugar. Thus products that contain artificial sweetness should be sold at high prices to promote a healthy lifestyle. I strongly disagree with this notion for two reasons which I will elucidate further in the passage. First of all, it is not a viable solution to make sugar -based items expensive as these items contribute a large share in the country's economy. Generally, these processed items occupy 40% of the food market of any country and if they are marked expensive then as a result fewer people will buy them and thus this market might get collapsed. A large number of people who are employed in this sector will lose their job if products are sold at higher prices. For instance, Coca-Cola only provides employment to half a million people globally if it makes sugary products expensive then it will directly affect the number of people who are employed there. Secondly, sugar is an addictive substance and when we consume sugar it releases a chemical in the human body known as dopamine which gives the feeling of happiness and satisfaction. So we tend to consume such products on regular basis to get this feeling again and again. If products that contain sugar are marked expensive then people might not able to get them and it will affect their mental health. For example, a growing body of research suggests that people who consume sweets daily are mentally stable and happy as compared to their similar counterparts. Furthermore, several doctors also suggest eating sugary food to fight anxiety and depression. In conclusion, I am against the idea that sugary items should be expensive as they contribute largely to the nation's economy and give jobs to hundreds of citizens. In addition, they are related to mental health indirectly and can be used as a medication to fight severe diseases like depression.