In the last decade, there has been a great increase in the number and variety of online courses available to adults. This has been welcomed as a great opportunity by many students, however, other students see these courses as less effective than classroom teaching. What are the advantages and disadvantages of studying an online course?

Nowadays we live in an era where advancement in technology has made our life much easier and convenient. Therefore, more and more students are choosing to enrol on online courses rather than the conventional way of studying. In this essay I will be discussing both the pros and the cons of this approach. To begin with, One of the major advantages that come with online studying is flexibility. Taking online courses allow us to study anywhere and at any time. Moreover, it gave the opportunity to many middle-aged individuals to further their studies but were unable to do it due to other commitments such as work or children. Furthermore, online courses are much more affordable. A recent study that was conducted in THE UK showed that the average university student will need almost 250 dollars per week to cover transportation and cafeteria expenses. And last but not least, online courses are easy to access we online need a computer and internet, all student material lectures are sent via e-mail. However, We can not ignore the drawbacks that come with online studying. First and foremost, the stigma that comes with it. To elaborate, many people have the perception that online graduates are not qualified. For,example if two candidates apply for the same job most probably the one who studies in a conventional way will get the job. Moreover, the lack of a variety of online courses is another issue. courses that require hands-on experience such as chemistry simply is not suitable for online courses. In conclusion, online teaching has opened doors and given opportunities for many individuals to continue their studies, this being said problems such as social stigma and the limited courses that could be though online are major cons.