Some people think that parents should teach children how to be good members of society. Others, however, believe that school is the place to learn this.

It is vital to encourage children to be good members of society. While it is often said that parents ought to be responsible to do this, I agree with those who think that school is better placed to learn it. There are those who say that parents should be responsible for teaching good citizenship. Perhaps the major argument is that they are with their children for long periods of time, and therefore normally know their children inside out. This may make them ideally placed to discuss the way people behave with their children. For instance, if fathers or mothers see a news story about a politician clearly lying on television, they can explain why such behavior is unacceptable. Another reason why parents should teach how to become a valuable member is that they can lead by example. They may take part in voluntary work at a local food bank or donate blood for patients in need of surgery. By participating in these activities, their child will actually see why it is important to give back to their community. However, I would argue that the best place for making children into good citizens is school for two reasons. One of these is that it is generally full of skilled teachers who are well trained not only to deliver important life lessons, but also to use varied techniques to accommodate students with different preferred learning styles. With these abilities, they tend to teach the obligations of citizenship as effectively as parents. Apart from studying in the classroom, schoolchildren can participate in various extracurricular activities, including scouts, sports clubs or community service, meaning that they will likely live and work with people from a variety of cultural and social backgrounds. This experience can teach children not only how to collaborate with others, but also the way to contribute to the life of their community. In conclusion, although parents might be well-positioned to teach through discussions and actions, I believe that school should take responsibility for encouraging children to become good citizens because of its teaching quality and diverse environment.