Today, majority of children are raised by their grandparents due to the fact that their parents are busy working. To what extent do you think it affects the whole family?

These days, for households that are still economically unstable, and especially after the severe effects of pandemic, that can make both parents have to become the breadwinner in the family. Leaving their children for grandparents to take care of is a great choice of many parents. This can bring a lot of positives but also have a few drawbacks affects the whole family. Let’s start with the benefits. First, having grandparents for the upbringing of young children is it can make the relationship between grandparents and grandchildren stronger. Second, child-minding can keep the older members of a family energetic and vibrant, helping them battle loneliness, depression and also helping to increase the life span. The third, children under the nurture of grandparents will be more knowledgeable about history and have a deep patriotism through our ancestor's historical lessons, which helps the grandchildren to build the moral values from an early age and keeping them entertained without the use of television and video games. However, the drawbacks should not be overlooked. Grandparents who are the people of the previous generation may have slightly outdated views and ideas compared to the generations of parents and children. This may not good in raising grandchildren. For example, for some elderly in Vietnam, girl should only spend their time learning cooking and sewing, while boys should learn how to be the breadwinners in the future. There are also a lot of grandparents who pamper their grandchildren very much, this may spoil the children misleading them to think that violation of ground rules is acceptable. And that is when the relationships between grandparents and birth parents in child-rearing methods become more stressed. In conclusion, although there are many positive in leaving children for grandparents nurture, it’s still have some drawbacks that parents should consider carefully.