In some cultures, children are often told that they can achieve anything if they try hard enough. What are the advantages and disadvantages of giving children this message?

It is widely believed in some cultures that children could achieve their goals only by working hard. In this essay, I would tell about the benefits and drawbacks of this belief. First, giving a motivational message like this to children could boost their work ethics. This is very essential to develop children's personalities to prepare for adulthood. For instance, Chinese children are taught by their parents to get the highest scores in every subject at school. This helps these children to give their best in everything. In addition, this could later develop into a habit to provide the best capabilities they have when they work in the companies or the governments. Another positive thing from this teaching is children can learn more things that perhaps their friends do not know since they study harder to be the best. On the other hand, this message could put children under more stress. Young children are prone to get more stress than adults if they do not have a happy childhood. For example, if these children failed at something, they will think that they lack in many things. Even worse, they could think that they are a failure to their families. This thought could lead them to slowly lose their confidence and pull themselves away from society. In conclusion, telling children to always do their best is a good way of teaching. However, parents should also put more care into their children's feelings or emotions. I think it is best to give rewards if they could achieve their goals and tell them that failing at something is only a step rock to gain success.