Many museums and historical sites are mainly visited by tourists and not local people. Why is the case? What can be done to attract local people?

In fact, historical places and museums attract a large number of tourists; however, locals show little interest in them. In this essay I am going to explain my opinion and the reason why the local community have low encouragement towards those places. To begin with, the place is not special to them because it is too familiar with their culture and history. In other words, perhaps have to note new to discover by visiting the same museum repeatedly; however, they attend to avoid visiting this area because they rather think it is a waste of time. A tourist, on the other hand, is eager to explore the new places of interest in the destinations, and museums and historical areas will help them to have a better understanding of unfamiliar history and cultures. another reason is that most tourism areas have an entry fee, which could be the major factor that discourages the local folks. If a person visited it once, they would avoid visiting it again because nobody wants to pay repeatedly to watch the same place and artwork. Therefore, there are several solutions to overcome that issues. Especially, Governments can take steps to encourage the local community to attend museums and historical buildings. Firstly, authorities can organize cultural events and regular exhibitions at these spots to provide people with a new experience every visit. Secondly, offering free or discount tickets on the weekends so that low-mid income families and groups to visit. For example, schools can provide assignments related to the history of a country, thus will motivate parents to take their children to the tourism area to explore which will help them excel in their studies. In conclusion, local residents do not visit museums or historical zone because there is not much they can explore or learn from there. In contrast, foreigners and tourists are curious to learn about their destination and hence they make it a point to exhibit these sites. The government can encourage more natives to visit them by conducting interesting programmes like exhibitions at these spots and offering free or discounted entry.