For many young people today, shopping is their favourite free time activity. Why do you think this has happened? Should young people be encouraged to do different activities in their free time?

In modern days, many youths spend their time shopping. If we examine the reasons behind this phenomenon,we notice that media is one of the main reasons behind it. Furthermore, young people should be motivated to take part in different activities that may provide health benefits, such as sports. First, the media has been bombarding our new generations with a vast amount of commercials, which is turning them into impulsive buyers. Meanwhile, these young people are no longer prioritizing their goals, but rather they are spending their money and time irresponsibly. For instance, my younger brother spends most of his time either in shopping malls or online stores. He wastes his time buying things that I believe he does not really need, but he has seen on TV or on the internet. This shows how media has created for the young ones the urge to spend impulsively. Second, elder generations should advise and guide the young ones to do different activities, this would draw their attention away from shopping, and towards better alternatives. Sport is a great substitute that has a positive impact on our bodies and minds. For example, a father may provide his son with a gym membership to help him decrease wasting time shopping, as well as improve his health and mental well-beingness. This is an easy way to help our ones develop better health while limiting shopping time. To conclude I say, shopping should not be set as a top priority, however,it should be set as a means of fulfilling needs, Moreover young ones should learn not to fall victim to the media. If each one of us takes the initiative to encourage our young ones towards better options, then our young ones will become more self-controlled towards shopping.