Many countries spend a lot of money on art. Some people think investment in art is necessary, but others say the money is better spent on improving health and education. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

FAir distribution of monetary resources has long been a matter of debate amongst civilians as many hold the opinion that utilisation of public funds on craft is essential whilst others contend that it should be utilised on uplifting the standard of health and education. I fully advocate for the latter viewpoint due to the reasons stated hereunder. It is an indubitable fact that the profession plays a vital role in making our surroundings aesthetically pleasing. But unfortunately, it is a very expensive and time-consuming practice; and generally not sufficiently rewarded. As a result, many artists are being forced to live a miserable life, which led to the loss of enthusiasm for a profession in the young generation. Therefore, in order to revive craftsmanship, which is the bedrock of many new inventions, it is crucial that all governments continue to spend a fair share of their treasury in the promotion of craft to keep creativity and imagination alive. On the other hand, the constant deterioration of public health and education is decelerating the overall progression of mankind. To fix this problem, the concentration of public funding on the building of new hospitals and schools is paramount to ensure the affordability of education and medical facilities to underprivileged countrymen. Consequently, a healthy and knowledgeable population would further accelerate the economic growth and per capita income which could be utilised for other welfare projects including the promotion of artistry. Finally, regardless of how useful artistry is for humanity, this should not result in more focus being placed on art rather than other social spheres of greater importance when it comes to the allocation of funds. Hence, I firmly hold the opinion that, though art is something that should not be totally neglected, governments should inject more money into healthcare and literacy.