According to a recent study, the more time people use the Internet, the less time they spend with real human beings. Some people say that instead of seeing the Internet as a way of opening up new communication possibilities world- wide, we should be concerned about the effect this is having on social interaction. How far do you agree with this opinion?

A recent survey has made it evident that ppeople are exhausting a greater amoutnt of time on the internet these days, and thus spending less time socialising in person. I strongly agree that although the adven tof to internet has windened the means and scope of communiucation, it has also had deterimental effects on the amount and quality of social interaction that takes place. It is absolutely indubitable that internet has significantly smoothened the wayt humans used tio communicate with each-other in the past. The advent of internet had made it convenient for us stay in tocuh with out loved ones in a convenient manner. Whilst in the past, communication 3was only possibnle by phone ot email which involved great amount of time and expense and yet the experience was still not really impressive. With the internet, this has changed dramatically. Email and social networking sites such as Facebook and MSN have cretaed online communication that are global in scale, and they have fostered communication between people and countries that we would nmot have thought possibnle in the not too distant past. This development is not without concerns as people, especially the younger generationn generations, have started spending considerable part of their day talking to knowns as-well-as strangers. Altyhough this can be beneficial, it is certainly mot the same as real interaction with human beings and does not involve the same interpersonal skills. Not only this, it can also have negative effects on local communities if people are spending most ogf tehir the time communicatonf communications onlien and not mixing in their neighbourhod, which could possibly lead to feelings of isolation for those individuals who do not have a 'real' person to turn to in times ofg need., To conclude, I belive that the unternbet has undoubtedly been beneficial, but there are good reasons to be conceded about the rapidly dying-out conventional way of interation on our societies. It is therefore impotant that we maintain a balance between our online life and our contact with real human beings to avoind being entangled by World Wide Web.