Poor nutrition and obesity is a problem in many developed countries and some people believe that a tax an fastfood would reduce the problem. Do you agree?

Unhealthy diet has caused health problems and weight-related problems in some first -world countries. Although, often it is said that fast food should be taxed to mitigate the problem, I think taxation alone is not enough and other measures should be taken to lessen detrimental health effects, such as education and promotion of healthy eating. First of all, most people who are regular consumers of fast food are not aware of negative consequences, such as weight gain. Therefore, it is essential to inform and educate society on this matter, using educational posters on the fast food chains. As a result, public will become informed about the harmful effects of an unhealthy diet and will try to consume less of it. Additionally, local authorities should advertise and advocate nutritious food for children at schools. The Irish government, as an example, rewards children who participate and maintain a healthy diet based on their weight. If students manage to lose weight, they will be rewarded. Finally, the availability of fast- food restaurants makes it easy to access these meals. For this reason, it is important to limit the number of fast food chains, so that fewer population have less access to unhealthy food. For instance, New Zealand reduced the number of fast food restaurants significantly to 1000 in the whole country, which resulted in reducing obesity. In conclusion, taxing alone can not be the final solution for poor diet and other actions, such as informing community on negative effects of these kinds of diet and promoting healthy eating using posters and rewards.