At the present time,the population of some countries includes relatively large number of young adults,compared with the number of older people Do the advantages of this situation outweigh the disadvantages.

The demographics of a nation plays a crucial role in shaping the future of any country. Metrices Matrices such as median age of population are often factored-in while comparing the growth of different nations. There are proponents of the view that a young nation is favourably poised to growth but in my opinion, a healthy mix of people of different age groups is required for a country to prosper. Firstly, a young and energetic workforce bring a lot of passion and zeal to succeed on the table. Their view points and ideas are radical in nature too. They challange challenged the traditional methods of doing things and often come up with the creative ways to solve a problem. For example, social media platforms like Facebook, WhatsApp are founded by people who are just 20-24 years of age. Also, when a country is in developing stage of its growth, having younger people works immensly in its favour. For instance, India has recorded a GDP growth rate of over 10% for the last decade and 70% of total population of India is in the age group of 25-35 years. On the other hand, older generation are more mature in their ways and comes with an experience of several years with them. They also provide necessary guidance and direction to the younger lot. They are also able to give a structured approach to any problem and show way for future growth. We have seen multiple cases of new start-ups hiring experienced professional to successfully implement their growth strategies. Older citizens also play a crucial role in keeping the culture and social values intact in the society which is a vital aspect of a propserous nation. Hence, the role of elderly people in a country can not be over-looked. To conclude, both sections of the society play different yet equally important roles in the geography. We need to have a balanced mix of people of all age groups to ensure that the development of a nation is sustainable. Capitalistic development, and ignoring the social fabric of the society should not be encouraged by governments.