plastic bags ,plastic bottles and plastic packaging are bad for the environment. what damage does plastic do to the environment? what can be done by governments and individuals to solve this problem?

Products made out of plastic material such as bottles, bags and packaging are undeniably harmful into our environment. This essay will discuss possible damage it can bring to our environment, and at the same time some appropriate measures a government and as individuals can do to to address this issue will be outlined further. First and foremost, it is true that the majority of the things people used are formed from plastic material because of its low cost and durability. This is alarming as the fact remains that plastics are non-biodegradable and as people continuous use will lead to a significant and irreversible negative effect to our ecosystem. For example, if plastics are burned this will emit toxic substances into the air causing ambient air pollution. In addition, it also released toxic substances if plastics are perished under the soil and exposed to the sunlight. There are ways a government and as individuals can do to help solve this ongoing problem. First, a law shall be implemented that limits and restricting the production and distribution of single used plastics such as straws, cups and so on. Furthermore, it will be better to encourage the people to use a reusable products like eco-bag for for groceries. Second, community driven program is needed in order to improve society participation resulting to better understanding. For instance, a group of people can be organized and will be responsible with the collection of plastic products from different household within the community. By doing such, a credit points will be earned that can be used in the future in buying food products for their family. To conclude, the use of plastic definitely posed a serious adverse effect to our environment which is dtrimental, however, with the collaborative effort of our government and its people by imposing correct strategies and actions will surely makes a big impact in solving this ongoing issue. l