In the last 20 years there have been significant developments in the field of information technology (IT), for example the World Wide Web and communication by email. However, future developments in IT are likely to have more negative effects than positive. To what extent do you agree with this view?

Even though information technology (IT) has been experiencing a huge progress during the past two decades, some people are skeptical about the future. They believe IT's negative consequences will outstand the positive in the next future. In my opinion, I disagree that further discoveries in information technology will lead to more negative effects than positive. Indeed, IT is still contributing to society's development and its key role will grow in relevance in the next decades due to climate change challenges. First of all, not only information technology has sensibly improved people's lives in the last decades, but it also created job places and helps us developing Change the form of the verb develop show examples our knowledge. Moreover, IT saved our economies during the covid-19 pandemic. Thanks to the World Wide Web, emails and videocalls people managed to keep working in spite of the lockdowns set by the governments. Computers also helped kids and teenagers feeling less alone while confined at home due to the pandemic. For example, by joining zoom calls they were able to participate in classes and takings exams remotely, or simply talk to their friends. In the next years, IT's role will become more and more essential in our lives. As humanity, we need strong allies, such as machines to face the effects of the global climate crisis. As a matter of fact, technology could be leveraged as a powerful tool to inform people about climate change causes and solutions. For instance, social medias could be used as a main source of information for new generations. To conclude, there are no reasons for worrying about IT's side effects, since until now it only improved our society. Furthermore, to win the battle against climate change, we do not need to consider technology as an enemy, but as an ally.