Over consumption of sugar is unhealthy. Some people think that governments should take the responsibility to control sugar intake while other think it is the responsibility of individuals. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

It is often argued that for the excess usage of glucose, the ministry shall be responsible and should take the control measures, while others believe that it is a personal responsibility for the well-being of their health. In my opinion, I believe that the duty belongs to both, while it is more of a self-responsibility to control the intake of sucrose First of all, a growing body of research suggests that government can regulate the measures of carbohydrate consumption by regulating taxes. One key benefit is that by increasing the taxes, the masses would restrict themselves from purchasing, and thereby would reduce the utilization of glucose. Moreover, imposing taxes is only one part of control measures, it is clear that local bodies shall make campaigns, and raise more awareness amongst people for the ill effects of overconsumption of sugar. However, there are also regulatory paths that must be considered by the population. One major issue is that overconsumption of sucrose leads to serious health effects. This means that it leads to obesity, tooth decay, and worst-case diabetes. For instance, WHO has reported that there is an increase in diabetic patients across the world by 10% per annum. In conclusion, while authority contributes to controlling the sugar intake by raising awareness, it is also the duty of individuals to be self-aware and help themselves from the consequences like tooth decay, overweight, and majorly diabetes. In my opinion, I believe a person is more responsible for their health. However, I would argue that government should act more aggressively by imposing high duties on sugar and monitoring diabetic patient records via hospitals.