Some parents buy their children whatever they ask for and allow their children to do whatever they want. Is this a good way to raise children? What consequences could this style of parenting have for children as they get older?

All parents want to indulge their kids with things they never could have in their childhood. Whether guardians should entertain every wish of their children without limits, is a concern for a vast majority of people. In my opinion, this method of parenthood is not ideal and would lead to undesired outcomes as the child gets older. If parents are to satisfy every demand a child puts forward, it will in turn spoil them beyond repairs. It is an age-old practice in order to express or attain love and affection to or from children. For instance, if a mother or father missed their child's dance or music program at school due to work or other reasons, they try to make up for it by agreeing to the child's requests. Whether it is to buy them a toy or to take them somewhere, parents agree to it. As a result, these children who are accustomed to getting everything they ask for and doing whatever they feel like, may end up exhibiting an unprincipled lifestyle when they become young adults. It is quite clear that this overindulgence will cause many negative impacts on the children as they grow up. These youngsters usually tend to be self-centred, disrespectful and will take everything in life for granted. Secondly, their mental stability will be similar to a house of cards. One blow of rejection or failure would devastate them completely. For example, the suicide rates in youngsters has increased drastically over the last decade. On having a minor setback or failure, they resort towards giving up completely. Therefore, it is quite clear that giving in to a child's every request will affect how they turn out as adults. In conclusion, parents should not unconditionally meet all the demands of their kids. Otherwise, these children will be heading towards a future filled with hardships they might not be able to withstand.