Some people think that the Olympics is no longer important in the 21st century. To what extend do you agree or disagree?

It is argued that Olympics have been losing their importance along the centuries, until becoming irrelevant nowadays. In my opinion, I disagree that Olympic games lost their importance in the world where we live in. I support this point of view for two main reasons. To commence with the first reason, these games represent an excellent way to bring people together. Indeed, it is very common for families or friends to watch Olympic games together, while having lunch or dinner for example. In addition to that, Olympics manage to gather people together at a more profound level, by awakening and enhancing strong feelings of patriotism and brotherhood among citizens. For instance, when last year an Italian athlete won the 100 mt Olympic race, we were all very proud of him, but especially we were proud of being Italians. Turning to the second motivation, Olympics represents a good method to increase and improve local economies. This is due to the fact that host cities usually invest huge amounts of money to improve their facilities, such as stadiums or swimming pools. As a consequence of government's investments, lots of new job places are created. Moreover, local economies can thrive also due to the increased levels of tourism, which is typical during the Olympic period. For instance, all hotels and restaurants in host cities and nearby are always fully booked. To conclude, even though some people consider Olympics games useless nowadays, I still believe they have a big relevance for both people and countries. These games are still a wonderful occasion that we can use to celebrate our countries's success. Furthermore, thanks to local government's investments and the increased levels of tourism, local economies will flourish during the Olympic season.