The media pay too much attention to the lives and relationships of celebrities such as actors, singers or footballers. They should spend more time reporting the lives of ordinary people instead. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

It is often argued that popular people's lives are usually focused on by the media. Therefore, attention should instead shift to the common people. I disagree with this statement because these famous individuals already lead public lives that earns them their fame and their actions affect ordinary people's lives. First and foremost, these celebrities deserve to be put in the spotlight because they are already used to a life of publicity and rely on it. Usually, it is because people are known widely through the media that they tend to earn money and build their fame. Hence, shifting attention to ordinary people would mean a loss of income on their part. Take, for example, many comedians nowadays are rich famous due to the fact that the media gave them so much attention. This in itself shows the dependence that celebrities have on the publicity instituted by the media. Secondly, the media is the only way through which ordinary people can get to know what is happening in the lives of popular people. To put this in perspective, because many ordinary people idolise these people so much that they spend money just to have their presence, they deserve to know how the people whom they spend money on are behaving. For example, many musicians of late engage in activities that they sing against just to gain popularity. Therefore, only when the media focuses on their personal lives could people be aware of their true nature. By way of conclusion, I reaffirm my stance that reporters should continue focusing their attention on famous people because their actions affect the lives of ordinary people and that they depend on that to maintain their status in society. Moreover, it has always been easy for them to enjoy being noticed by others.