In the future, nobody will buy printed newspapers or books because they will be able to read everything online without paying. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

While in the past people had access to information and news through books and newspapers, nowadays there are advanced ways of doing so. I agree with the idea that in the future printed newspapers and books will have no presence among people as they will just choose online versions. Online materials which are presented on different websites and other platforms are usually free of charge. Many news outlets broadcast the news on their website without having people pay any money for a subscription, so people from any socio-economic class can have access to the freshest news with just a few clicks, which offers a free flow of information in society. Also, books will be available in electronic versions on different apps so that people can buy a monthly or weekly service to read thousands of books without buying all those books. Furthermore, E- books and electronic versions of newspapers seem to be more environmentally friendly. When these materials are published online, there is no need to cut down a large number of trees to produce paper, thus preventing deforestation to a large extent. Waste production will be reduced in the long run as less amount of paper from printed media is thrown away. Some people may argue that people are more likely to continue reading paper books and newspapers in the future as they think reading on paper in contrast with staring at gadgets such as laptops, tablets, cellphones and book readers is safer for their eyes. However, state-of-the-art gadgets nowadays have protective LCDs which are not detrimental to humans’ eyes, so users can read as much as they want without having to worry about their eyesight. In conclusion, I believe that printed books and newspapers are likely to disappear since websites and applications providing the news and books will be free to use. Moreover, no more trees will be cut down for this purpose, contributing to a healthier environment. Anyone who is scared of getting weak eyesight due to looking at monitors and LCDs should know that these are safer than they think. are safer than they think.