In some countries the average weight of people is increasing and their level of health and fitness are decreasing. What do you think are the causes of these problems and what measures could be taken to solve them?

Nowadays, the technological advancement and the changing working and eating habits of people have resulted in an increase in average weight of people and eventually the poorer levels of health and fitness. However, this can be tackled by encouraging people to exercise and offering fewer sugar products in the market. First and foremost, one of the cogent reasons for people gaining weight is due to the development of technology that has invented to enhance our way of living in terms of fast, easy and convenient. In other words, they have introduced to completely reduce our physical efforts. For example, Dyson, the brand of the electrical appliance, has created an automatic vacuum cleaner that enables people to do several tasks at the same time. This means we do not have to carry a huge cleaner and rub forth and back on the floor since Dyson’s has their own system navigating where to clean without human actions. Therefore, less naturally exercise is required. Moreover, the alteration of people working behaviour in the modern world can result in stress and anxiety and, consequently people tend to seek desserts or sweets to relieve while the technology did not require our fitness. Undoubtedly, people put on their weight. One effective solution to deal with this problem is companies that produced sweets products may consider using substitute glucose that contained 0% sugar and trans-fat. This can offer a variety of choices for consumers, promoting healthy trends and eventually can reduce the number of obesity or other diseases caused by unhealthy nutrition. Yoghurt, no added sugar and 0% fat, was a good example of brand ‘Meji’ that has been introduced to the market and it has received the greatest sales feedback while successful in encouraging consumers to become healthier. In addition, the government needs to promote recreational activities in public parks by generating exercise schedules for people to join and improve their general health as well as encourage social interaction. In conclusion, average weight increase may not be a crucial problem if we are conscious of the causes of technology and eating behaviours. Thus, we can solve this by consuming alternative products while having the discipline to exercise to refine our fitness level.