Some people believe that unpaid community service should be a compulsory part of high school programmes (for example working for a charity, improving the neighborhood or teaching sports to younger children). Do you agree or disagree?

Nowadays, a lot of young adults are interested in social service and are working as volunteers. A certain portion of people argues that free service is mandatory and should be part of their school curriculum. I would favour this view and I contend that school children are obliged to do uncompensated work during their course work. Admittedly, teenagers who do unrewarded work like teaching unprivileged primary school kids understand socio-economic inequalities. For instance, one of my friends who was from an affluent family never knew about children with meagre resources and was delighted to see the gratitude expressed by destitute students when they were taught English and other difficult subjects like Mathematics. Therefore, it is required to include unpaid community service as one of the subjects to inculcate good habits from childhood which aids them to grow into better citizens. Furthermore, they are a few adolescents who worked with local people as part of their studies and developed careers to resolve public issues. To illustrate, some of my classmates worked with farmers, listened and understood their issues with empathy and developed an application to solve their problems. As a result, they not only were able to solve farmers' issues, but also grew as an entrepreneur generating revenue and providing employment opportunities. Hence, engraining moral values at an early age helps them to give back to society. To summarize, embedding social work as part of their studies not only benefits the individual, but also the community. This will assist them to understand the pain points of low-income individuals and aid in developing a sense of belongingness towards the nation.