In their advertising, businesses nowadays usually emphasise that their products are new in some way. Why is this? Do you think it is a positive or negative development?

In today’s world, companies often put much emphasis on the breakthrough features of their products in advertisements. There are several reasons why businesses are doing so. Personally, I think this might be a negative development. One of the reasons that companies like to highlight the new features is to attract more customers. With the advancement of technology, there are so many products available on the market. The best way to compete with what is already available on the market would be to come out with something that nobody has seen before. In addition, by advertising on the breakthrough technology involved in their new products, the manufacturer may be considered as the industry leader and thus attract more investment to fund their R&D activities. In my opinion, the emphasis on the new features in advertisements might mislead the public when making decisions. Some of the new designs do not necessarily improve the quality of the product itself, but rather purely to catch the public’s eye. For example, one of the Ramen shops in Japan added a new item into their menu, where an ice cream cone is placed inside a bowl of hot spicy ramen. The original post went viral and many people went to the shop to try this new creation, but after trying, most eaters did not find the ramen tasty at all. In conclusion, more and more businesses are trying to incorporate new features into their products in order to attract customers and boost sales. This could lead to unnecessary changes to the existing products and hence I do not see it as a positive development.