Some believe that younger family members should be legally responsible for supporting older family members when they become physically, mentally and financially unable to look after themselves. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Some today believe that the children should be held legally responsible for the support and care of parents when they are physically, mentally and financially unable to take care of themselves. Although young family members are legally obligated to be responsible for the care of their parents, I strongly agree that they should be legally responsible to do so. First and foremost, from an ethical point of view, it's certainly the responsibility of a child to look after their parents when they are not able to look after themselves physically, mentally and financially. This is because mothers and fathers have invested a lot of their effort and hard-earned money to ensure their children grew up successful and happy. Therefore, when the inevitable time comes and older family members are no longer able to take of themselves, it's the child's turn to give the attention they've received when they were young. For instance, in South Korea, children are expected to care for their mothers and fathers financially and physically once they become adults. As a result, this ideology shouldn' t be done for moral and ethical reasons but as a legal requirement. Thus, such a belief should be made a legal requirement for younger family members to look after older family members. Secondly, once parents become no longer able to sustain themselves due to physical, mental and financial instability, they won' t have the ability to survive. Without assistance from their family members, it's a sad, lonely and painful battle that has a disastrous result. As an example, it's a legal obligation for moms and dads to ensure their offspring aren' t starved to death since newborns aren' t physically, mentally and financially stable. Accordingly, when older family members grow too old and are no longer able to survive, it should be a legal responsibility of the offspring to do the same. Hence, younger family members should be made legal carers and hold full responsibility for supporting their parents. In conclusion, although most family members are responsible for looking after their parents are solely for moral and ethical reasons, I strongly agree that doing so should be made a legal requirement.