Crime has been increasing in many cities around the world. What are the main causes of crime? How should these city governments deal with this problem?

Globally there is an unprecedented increase in the crime rate across all major cities. Throughout this essay, I will dwell on the reasons for the increased criminal activities and suggest possible solutions to combat the rise in crime. To begin with, one of the major reasons why an individual might resort to crime is poverty. Many a time, due to unemployment and lack of income a person's basic needs might not be sufficient, the only other option he feels is available to him, in order to sustain himself would be to take up illegal activities, which can provide him with quick money. For instance, people agree to become drug mules or physically hurt someone in exchange for money, as he is unable to earn his living as a law-abiding citizen. Another reason, which plays a contributing role in unlawful acts is greed. Even though the individual might be financially secure, there is always an urge to maximising his wealth which leads to fraudulent and criminal activities such as forgery,misappropriation of wealth, drug trafficking etc. One possible solution, would be to ensure that a person's basic needs of food, shelter, and employment is being met and the government or local constitution have an imperative role to play for such an initiative. First of all, access to basic education must be available to all, despite the strata of society the person belongs to. Consequently, having an education will not only help in character building but will also aid in the process of getting work, which will further ensure a constant income. For example, in Sri Lanka education till high school is free for all, with further grants and scholarships for college for people who are unable to afford it. Another solution, is having proper rules and regulations in place, along with strict laws, which acts as a deterrent for a person trying to break the law. For example, in,Thailand the penalty for drug peddling is a death sentence. To conclude, being poor and a person's unchecked aspirations are the major causes of the surge in crime. however, with the timely and right intervention of public institutions and government bodies the rate of crime can be significantly reduced.