Some people believe that unpaid community service should be a compulsory part of high school programmes (for example working for a charity, improving the neighborhood or teaching sports to younger children). Do you agree or disagree?

It is argued that volunteer work such as helping with charities and supporting younger kids with their studies should be compulsorily installed into high school experience, in my point of view, I agree with this statement completely. First and foremost, unpaid neighbourhood services teach juveniles to respect workers in their community, from which they understand the value of work and be grateful to social workers. For instance, my high school used to organise planting events in our community in planting festivals. We learned how hard it is to plant a tree by digging a deep hole, stabilizing the roots and checking the mud ground by ourselves, after such an event we learned to appreciate the natural environment and the hard work of our gardeners. After all, experience is a better teacher compared to textbooks. Furthermore, volunteer jobs assist teenagers in stepping into society to some extent, as they offer both work involvement and social communication to teenagers who bury themselves in study life. To be more specific, teenagers have few chances to experience the realm of social work while some of them face the situation of stepping into society directly after graduating from high school. Hence, volunteering in public services gives them a chance to practice,discover the problems around them and figure out possible solutions after that. In conclusion, I strongly agree with the proposal of pushing high school students into volunteering community services to teach them to be grateful and to prepare them for real society.