These days, we are seeing and increasing amount of violence on television, and this is having a negative impact on children's behaviour. Do you agree or disagree?

Nowadays, children spend more time than ever watching television. However, most of the programmes broadcasted daily contain high amounts of violence. It is agreed that increased exposure to increased levels of aggressivity is affecting children's attitudes negatively. Analysing the adverse effects that violence has on human behaviour as well as children's tendency to reproduce what they see, will prove that. Generally speaking, it is widely known that violence has negative effects on people. For example, when we watch a violent movie, our feelings are usually affected in a negative way, thus we tend to feel nervous and uncomfortable. Thanks to numerous behavioural experiments, scientists came to the conclusion that a person who witnessed a violent scene, directly or virtually, is more likely to act aggressively than others who have not experienced the same situation. Hence, it is scientifically proven that human behaviour is negatively affected by violent movies, images or situations. On the other hand, children are pretty easy to influence, compared to adults. They learn by observing and repeating what they see. Consequently, when a child spends most of his free time watching violent tv programmes, he soon begins to adopt aggressive behaviour. For instance, every day we hear about more and more fights in schools or about episodes of children punching their best friend or, even worse, a teacher. This is clearly a consequence of the increased amount of violence on TV. To conclude, violence affects negatively, and psychologists have proven that. This is even more true when it comes to children because they are easier to influence than adults. Therefore, there is a link between the increased levels of children's aggressivity and the growth in the amount of violence on TV.