Some people think that the main benefit of international cooperation is in the protection of the environment, while others believe that the main interest is in world business. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

There is a general consensus among certain people that working together internationally is for the benefit of the environment as opposed to the belief of others that the primal objective of such a cooperation is to pursue monetary gains in business. Throughout this essay, I will explore both sides of the opinion and provide my viewpoint. To begin with, Many individuals are of the opinion that the environment can be protected with international cooperation. This thought stems from the fact that issues such as the protection of flora and fauna, reducing carbon dioxide levels in the atmosphere, and the persistent issue of global warming cannot be tackled in isolation but requires a global effort. Hence, international collaborations are of paramount importance. For instance, the Paris accord on climate change was signed to limit the usage of fossil fuels and increase the usage of alternative energy sources, such as renewable energy. Furthermore, mutual agreements between countries will not only prevent and slow down the process of damage to our environment but will also lead to an exchange of ideas and technology which will help to tackle the critical issue of climate change. However, many a time people or countries engage in international deals to pursue their own vested interests. Saving the environment, is no more a priority and is replaced by profiting from business deals. For instance, countries with the pretext of reducing harmful emissions in the atmosphere, push for the adoption of their own technology, produced in their manufacturing centre, providing a boost to their local economy but at the same time increasing import expenditures of other countries. Therefore, the covenants of an agreement must be looked into acutely and whether its real motive is to combat pertaining environmental problems. To conclude, protection of the environment is a worldwide issue and requires efforts globally it cannot be solved by a single country or individual but at the same,time it is imperative that people do not use it as an opportunity for self-gain and ignore the actual motive of such a collaboration.