Some people say that advertising is extremely successful at persuading us to buy things. Other people think advertising is so common that we no longer pay attention to it. Discuss Both views and give your opinion.

It is often argued that advertisements are so powerful in a way that they can force citizens to purchase goods, while others suggest that advertisements have lost their vitality to persuade people. I strongly believe that advertisements are losing their impact as the market competition is increasing and consumers are getting smart. First of all, advertising is influential, the reason is the human mind processes information faster which is repeated after a certain interval. This is the most common strategy used by corporations to increase their product sale. They continuously repeat the advertisements as a result citizens soon find them interesting and purchase them. For instance, if I am searching for a product on Google then the whole time Google will show me ads regarding that product only. So that is how we end up purchasing unnecessary items just because of advertising. However, a specific group does not agree with this idea because the market competition has increased so much that there are several alternatives available for the single product. As a result, consumers are more aware, thanks to the internet, while purchasing. They compare different options without considering the associated advertisements. For example, there are various companies that are offering milk in the market, consumers are purchasing milk by comparing nutritional values irrespective of what they advertise. So here advertising has no role. In conclusion, though I believe that advertising can be influential, it is going to be somewhat ineffective in future due to the presence of smart users. Repeating an advertisement will make the watchers curious and force them to buy the product, while due to technological advancements consumers are getting smart and they purchase things intellectually without looking at the ads.