Some people believe that unpaid community service should be compulsory part of high school programmes(for example working for a charity, improving the neighbourhood or teaching sports to younger children) To what extent do you agree or disagree?

It is thought by certain people that it is a must for high schools to take part in working in the community for free as part of their programmes. I completely agree with this because it is a way of training students to be responsible citizens and of giving back to the community. First and foremost, it is a way of giving back to society for its continued support. In other words, this is a means of showing appreciation to a community that backs the school. For instance, many people from surrounding areas assist schools with financial and moral support, hence it is prudent that the schools reciprocate. Therefore, without having compulsory school programmes like these, many pupils would shun participating and thus miss out on the opportunity to give back to the people in the community. Secondly, when learning institutions take this route, they are in turn teaching their pupils to be responsible children in society. Many children nowadays are roaming the streets because they did not have an opportunity to learn how to be responsible. On the other hand, compulsory school arrangements such as participating in free teaching of sports to young ones offer them that chance of learning to be more responsible. Take, for example, many of the children learn to show respect to adults through the offering of free services. This in itself is what constitutes a good community. By way of conclusion, I reaffirm my statement that compulsory charity programmes help to give back to society and shape children into responsible adults in future.