In many cities the use of video cameras in public places is being is being increased in order to reduce crime, but some people believe that these measures restrict our individual freedom. Do the benefits of increased security outweigh the drawbacks?

As technology is getting more advanced, many modern cities have implemented video surveillance in open places to curb crime rates, though this approach has been criticised by some individuals. This essay will discuss how the safety and security of these overcome the demerits. It will be demonstrated how video footage compels the public to behave and act as evidence for law enforcement. People tend to act more modestly if it is sensed that they are being overlooked. If CCTV cameras are placed in public spheres, as a result, the public will be restrained from committing immoral activities. To illustrate, a street in Mohammadpur was infamous for muggers. The police department received several complaints daily of people losing their valuables while going through that road. In order to combat that, several cameras were installed in that place. As a result, the number of complaints dropped from 20 a day to less than that in a month. The robbers are not able to roam freely in that area. In addition, the surveillance footage can be used to identify and arrest criminals. Going back to the previous case, later if a crime was reported in that area, the police would immediately go to check the security footage of that particular region. They were able to identify the criminals and put a search warrant for them. Consequently, lots of thieves were put behind bars. This is why, placing a video camera in strategic points can reduce crime. On the other hand, it is argued by many that such measures restrain individual freedom. Though privacy is an important aspect of our lives, it is more required in private spaces. For instance,in a survey, 93% of citizens agreed they do not mind being recorded in open areas as it benefits the overall security. As many folks interact in open areas, individual freedom might do more harm than good if it is not controlled. In conclusion, I endorse the placement of cameras in public regions of the city, as it can decrease illegal activities by compelling individuals to become more polite, along with recording proof for police forces. Though it restrains the behaviour of an individual, this does not matter gravely in open sites.