Some people say that in all levels of education, from primary schools to universities, too much time is spent on learning facts and not enough on learning practical skills. Do you agree or disagree?

There are those who believe that throughout one’s schooling, a considerable number of curricular activities consist of teaching historical facts and lacking in the development of practical skills. I totally agree with this statement, and further, I recommend their inclusion in the curriculum as these skills can be used to get students ready for the job market, as well as help their families. One of the more salient reasons why I support the learning of practical abilities is because it can help youngsters when searching for their first jobs. In fact, entering the job market, while a teenager, requires them to have basic abilities, as they have not yet been learned in any skilled profession. To illustrate this, many shops hire youth that demonstrates to have abilities with computers or are good with customers. In my view, schools can enhance this process by addressing these practical abilities in the students. Moreover, I believe that although facts are important to know, practical skills can be seen as a way schools can encourage students to help their parents. This is because, students can be taught to perform household chores, such as cooking basic meals and fixing shelves, that due to the hectic day of families nowadays, parents are not able to teach them. This is another way in which teenagers can feel more helpful to their families. In conclusion, I am in complete agreement that practical abilities should be given more consideration in the learning process. This is due to the fact that the young generation can have more success in their first jobs, and learn housing skills that can help their family. Given this situation, it seems that giving more attention to these activities at schools can be of great help for students throughout their life.