One of the consequences of improved medical care is that people are living longer and life expectancy is increasing. Do you think the advantages of this development outweigh the disadvantages?

The pace of change in medical advancements has increased our time on Earth. The purpose of this essay is to discuss why I am inclined to the view that the gains of living more predominate over the drawbacks associated with this issue. One of the more salient benefits of increasing life expectancy is directly related to the fact that people are having better lives. This is because improvements in medical care enable the population to have higher quality treatments, as well as medicines. To illustrate this, artificial intelligence technologies are being used to detect anomalies of people's exams with considerable more precision, due to their higher power to analyse digital images, such as x-rays. An additional merit of living more is that people are being able to enjoy more time when they retire. In fact, considering that in most nations people might start to work at the age of 25 and work for 30 years before retiring, living until 80 or 85 give people much more time to spend with their lovely ones and appreciating life besides work. However, there are downsides to this issue that cannot be ignored, one of which is the economical crisis that such an increase in life expectancy is creating in our society. As people are living more, they are being paid pensions for much much longer and are not contributing with taxes. Therefore, governments are having to reallocate money from other sectors in order to keep paying the population. In conclusion, I would like to reiterate that the vantages of advancements in medical conditions in terms of receiving more precise medicine and enjoying more time when retired, seems to prevail over the drawbacks of its impact on the economy of countries. Given this situation, it seems that governments should restructure the country's retirement plan to overcome this matter.