Some people believe that unpaid community service should be compulsory part of high school programmes(for example working for a charity, improving the neighbourhood or teaching sports to younger children) To what extent do you agree or disagree?

It is everyone's responsibility to give back to the community.It is believed that unpaid community services should be compulsory for all high school learners, however I disagree because this might interrupt their studies and some of the students may not be fully equipped to carry this kind of responsibility. This essay will elaborate more on this topic. As we all know that the final years of high school are not that easy as most students will be working hard to get better grades as they will be preparing for tertiary education,so getting involved in community services programmes will take some of their precious time which they can not afford. For instance,my previous high school introduced weekend classes in our final year of high school.We would spend most of our time at school studying with our peers and we even gave up our social lives.I can imagine if we had to take up some voluntary work too!, but it was worth it in the end as our school attained a 100% pass rate! On the other,hand some of the activities involved in community services require one to be well equipped in the certain field they choose or at least have some interest in that field you chose to volunteer, otherwise they might find it challenging. for example,if a student chooses to volunteer at a local community preschool but does not have any kind of experience about working with young children,the poor student might lose interest in carrying on with the activities due to lack of training. To sum up,Learners should be given a chance to choose if they want to take part in voluntary community work because some of the students cannot stand the pressure of schoolwork as the activities might interfere with their school work, hence some of them lack the experiences needed to carry out these roles.