The best way to travel is to travel in a group led by a tour guide. To What extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

It is generally believed that taking part in a tour group is the best way to travel. Undoubtedly, people can save time without doing their homework before travelling. I disagree with the perspective that an escorted tour is not the best way. One primary reason is that people must follow the schedule set by a travel agency. A tour schedule is like a set menu: you cannot change any options. For instance, you will follow the tour to go to some attractions and restaurants that you might not be interested in. Even though people want to skip the arranged activities, the tour guide would not allow them to do it because it is an escorted tour. As a result, people might be disappointed because the schedule is not flexible. In addition to the first reason, joining a tour group is not the best way to travel because of problems with the members. A risk that comes with tour groups is that people can not choose the tour members. Trouble does happen during travelling. For example, following the agenda, everybody should gather at the same time at each place. If someone is not able to meet on time, other people must wait for them. More than likely, this kind of person will not be late just once. When it happens, the whole group has no choice but to tolerate their behaviour and waste their time. Overall, I disagree that an escorted tour is the best way to travel. I strongly feel that travelling with a tour group often comes with the need to tolerate many things such as inflexible schedules and problems with the members.