‘It is important for foreigners to know something about the history and culture of the country they live in.’ Discuss. Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

Advancements in technology have changed the world into a global village allowing people to live in places away from their motherland irrespective of their ethnicities. It is crucial for migrants to know about the background and traditions of a particular nation they live in. This essay will discuss the reasons why such research is helpful. There are many reasons to learn about the place they live in. The primary is, it enhances your stay experience. Many people enter into a foreign land with a lot of preconceived notions which is the result of stereotypes caused by media. Learning about the past and the culture of the state can change the perception of the country. For instance, Indian eating their food with their hands instead of using cutlery is portrayed as an ugly habit. But, they practice such habit because they believe food is god and should be treated with respect. In addition, Migrants can stay away from indulging themselves into illegal issues. Lack of knowledge about the historical significance and national treasures will lead the public to commit some serious offences. For example, October 2nd is considered a dry day in India, which means citizens are not allowed to sell and drink alcohol unknowingly the memory of Mahatma Gandhi's birthday. foreigners who are not aware of such important days of our country can unknowingly violate this kind of rules resulting in penalties. In conclusion, migrants knowing about the history and culture of the residing the nation can understand the nation better and can also avoid some crime. Therefore, it is always beneficial to possess some level of knowledge about the country a foreigner is currently living in